Illinois College of Optometry Logo
Search Button

ICO Scholarships

All incoming student applications are automatically evaluated during the admissions process for scholarship consideration. There is not a separate scholarship application for incoming first-year students.

While scholarship opportunities for incoming students are limited, enrolled ICO students have exclusive access to nearly a half-million dollars in scholarships and awards that the college distributes each year. In addition, ICO tracks more than 100 public scholarships and awards. These additional opportunities are always shared first with students and can be pursued further with the Student Development Office and Student Financial Services Department. A partial list can be seen below under Current Student Scholarships.

The following scholarships are offered exclusively by ICO to incoming students; please note that applicants are automatically considered for the Presidential and Trustees Scholarships during the admissions process, and early applicants receive greater consideration.

Presidential Scholarship

Presidential Scholarships are highly competitive and are typically awarded early in the application cycle to outstanding candidates. These renewable scholarships are valued at half tuition, but very limited. Applicants should demonstrate outstanding academic performance at the undergraduate level and academic promise for a professional education, possess a minimum undergraduate cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher, an OAT score of 350 or higher, and exhibit the ability to contribute significantly to the ICO community and the optometric profession. A 3.3 cumulative GPA is required for renewal.

Trustees Scholarship

The Trustees Scholarship was established to encourage outstanding students to select ICO as their school of choice for professional education. The award amounts vary based on the available funds in a given year. A 3.0 cumulative GPA is required for renewal.

ICO Scholarship for Underrepresented Populations

This scholarship was established to encourage students from underrepresented minority populations to pursue a career in optometry. Applicants should demonstrate outstanding academic performance at the undergraduate level and academic promise for professional education, a professional demeanor, high ethical standards and integrity, and the ability to contribute significantly to the ICO community and the optometric profession. Upon being selected to interview at ICO, candidates should notify the Admissions Department of their interest in being considered for this scholarship. A limited number of these $5,000 scholarships are awarded annually. A 3.0 cumulative GPA is required for renewal.

Illinois Optometric Education Scholarship

This scholarship is offered to Illinois residents who have demonstrated academic merit and who plan to practice in Illinois after graduation. A 3.0 cumulative GPA is required for renewal.

African American Scholarship

This one-time scholarship is offered to an African American student who demonstrates academic performance and leadership qualities.

Current Student Scholarships

Recipients for these awards selected by the Fellowship and Awards Committee or Faculty and are based on ICO academic, clinical, service and leadership excellence.

Valedictory Award
Elmer & Blanche Pieper Memorial Scholarship
Dr. George L. Demetros Memorial Scholarship
Beta Sigma Kappa Medal
Certificate of Commendation-Highest ICO Score on Part I-NBEO
ICO Alumni Association Scholarship
Dr. Lawrence G. Gray Memorial Scholarship
Richard J. O’Brien II Memorial Award
Dr. & Mrs. Rudolph H. Ehrenberg Research Award
Southwest Contact Lens Scholarship
Faculty Scholarship
Cribb Leadership and Service Award
Wildermuth Foundation Scholarship
Dr. Lorayne Pocius Politser Scholarship
Dr. Deannda Roder Memorial Scholarship
Philip E. Wells Trust Award
Richard Tennant Memorial Scholarship
Clayton Powell Scholarship
Dr. Henry Luckhardt Memorial Scholarship
Colonel Bzdula Student of the Year Award (from the Armed Forces Optometric Society)
Dr. Derrald Taylor Low Vision Residency Award
Polly Flink Eastland Memorial Award
Exceptional Tutor Award
Natelle and Curt Brown Endowment
Lawrence P. Feigenbaum Clinical Optometry Memorial Award

The following awards were offered to current students from various companies and organizations in 2013-2014. Recipients are selected by Faculty and/or the Fellowship and Awards Committee.

Alcon 4th Year Optometry Student 2014 Case Report Award
2014 Award of Excellence in Contact Lens Patient Care
GP Contact Lens Clinical Excellence Award
Metro Optics Contact Lens Scholarships
Marchon Eyewear Practice Management Award
Canela Software Scholarship
William Feinbloom Low Vision Award
Eschenbach Low Vision Student Award
Optelec Lighthouse Macular Degeneration Award
COVD Award for Excellence in Vision Therapy
Good-Lite Pediatric Equipment Awards
American Academy of Optometry Travel Grant-Illinois Chapter
ARVO Travel Grant
Essilor Travel Grant
Dr. Stanley Pearle Vision Scholarship
Jewish Vocational Service Scholarship
Walmart Scholarship
Walman Optical Scholarship
United States Air Force & Navy Health Professions Scholarships
Michigan Foundation for Vision Awareness Scholarship
Student Association Scholarship
Awards are subject to change in the 2015 academic year.