Illinois College of Optometry Logo
Search Button

IOA Names Dr....

IOA Names Dr. Geoffrey Goodfellow Optometrist of the Year

ICO Faculty Portrait Geoffrey Goodfellow

The Illinois College of Optometry is delighted to congratulate Geoffrey Goodfellow, OD, FAAO, on being named 2017 Optometrist of the Year by the Illinois Optometric Association. This is the highest honor the IOA can bestow on a fellow optometrist. The award was given at the IOA’s annual convention, which took place September 14-17, 2017, in Itasca, Illinois.

In addition to being a beloved Associate Professor, Dr. Goodfellow is ICO’s Associate Dean for Academic Assessment and Records. He currently teaches ophthalmic optics, instructs a variety of pediatric and binocular vision laboratories, and coordinates the Private Practice Clerkship. He played an integral role in updating ICO’s curriculum for last year’s entering class.

The Optometrist of the Year award recognizes Dr. Goodfellow’s service to optometry, the public, and the IOA and/or AOA. We are honored to have him sharing his many talents with Illinois College of Optometry students.

Several other members of the ICO family were also recognized at the 2017 IOA Convention. Christine Allison, OD, FAAO, FCOVD, was given a plaque recognizing her completion of the 2016-17 year as IOA President. Jordan Beller, OD ’71, and D. R. Gordon, OD ’71, both received their 50-year member awards. Congratulations to all!