Illinois College of Optometry Logo
Search Button


Dr Jeff Smith, ICO Interim President

Early in the Presidential Search process, the Board of Trustees of the Illinois College of Optometry designated an Interim President who would facilitate the transition upon Dr. Augsburger’s retirement and the arrival of the next president.

Dr. Jeff Smith, MBA, a former member of our Board of Trustees, accepted the appointment as ICO’s interim president. Dr. Smith has been on the Illinois College of Optometry Board of Trustees for 10 years, having served as Vice Chairman from 2013 – 2016.

In addition to his service to ICO, Dr. Smith has a long career of awards and accomplishments including Who’s Who of American Inventors for Patents and Top 10 New Executives. He has earned three degrees and served in over 13 positions throughout his career. To view his CV, click here.


President’s Administrative Cabinet

ICO Executive Team

  • Jeff Smith, OD, MBA
    Interim President
  • Mark Colip, OD
    President Designate
  • Arol Augsburger, OD
    President Emeritus
  • John Budzynski, CPA
    Vice President for Business and Finance/Chief Financial Officer
  • Valarie Conrad, OD, MPH
    Vice President for Compliance and Community-Based Services
  • Maggie Lopez
    Chief Executive Assistant, Office of the President and Board of Trustees
  • Leonard Messner, OD, FAAO
    Vice President for Patient Care Services/Executive Director of the Illinois Eye Institute
  • Stephanie Messner, OD, FAAO
    Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs
  • Laura Rounce, MA
    Vice President for Administration

Board of Trustees

  • Dwight H. Akerman, OD, FAAO (Dipl), FIACLE, FBCLA  Secretary
    Fort Worth, Texas
  • Vasvi Babu, OD
    Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Sandy Block, OD, MEd, FAAO, FCOVD
    Chicago, Illinois
  • Elyse Chaglasian, O.D., FAAO
    Chicago, Illinois
  • Donovan L. Crouch, OD, FAAO  Chairman
    Storm Lake, Iowa
  • R. Michael Daley
    Tarpon Springs, Florida
  • Joseph L. Derezinski, MS
    Chicago, Illinois
  • Karen Eng, OD  Treasurer
    North Barrington, Illinois
  • Robert L. Fait, OD
    Burlington, Wisconsin
  • Dwain Hahs
    Jackson, Missouri
  • Brian E. Higgins
    Dayton, Ohio
  • Jeffrey D. Johnson
    Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
  • Andrea McCann, OD, FAAO
    Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Stephen Pugh, Esq
    Chicago, Illinois
  • Robert J. Steinmetz, OD
    Chicago, Illinois
  • Charles B. Quattrochi, CPA 
    La Grange, Illinois
  • Charles Weis, CPA
    Chicago, Illinois

Student Representative

  • Sameera Jhamb, ’17
    Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada

Emeritus Trustees

  • James R. Butler, OD
    Atlantis, Florida
  • Thomas A. Lawless, OD
    Dixon, Illinois