Alumni Association Scholarship

The Alumni Association Scholarship was initiated by the ICO Alumni Council in 2011. Since that time 23 scholarships have been awarded to 4th year students.


Each year, the ICO Alumni Council asks 4th year students to submit an essay describing their service and leadership while an ICO student. They are also to include how they will continue to lead and serve ICO and the optometric profession as an alumnus.

Additionally, a portion of the scholarship funds are offered to an admissions candidate to help ICO recruit the best and brightest students into our entering class each fall.


Establishing relationships with students who are beginning their optometric education at ICO, as well as those who are about to become ICO alumni, aligns with the mission and strategic plan of the Alumni Association: To foster current and future alumni relations to support the mission of ICO.

All funds have been generously donated by alumni. If you would like to help a student, please use our secure online form and select "Alumni Association Scholarship" from the drop down menu. Thank you!

2020 Scholarship Recipients


Frances Mangahas '20

Student Association President, Board of Trustee and Alumni Council Student Representative, Gold Key Honor Society, MCA, and CCLS Executive Board, AOSA Delegate


Ashleigh Yates '20

NOSA President, Spanish Club President, Black Student Union Co-Founder, Focus on Your Future Program Mentor


Lucas Schmidt '20

AOSA Trustee, National AOSA Delegate, AOA PAC Contributor, Optometric Charity Fundraiser


Alice Han '20

AOSA President, Student Assn. Social Media Correspondent, Class Notetaker, Colleague of the Year Award, SVOSH