ICO News

Catch up on the latest happenings at ICO.

Celebrating our Alumni

New Alumni Council Members Elected

Congratulations to our new Alumni Council Officers! New officers are elected each fall. They are: Nana Owusu, OD '08, President, Casey Hogan, OD '97, FAAO, FSLS, Dipl. ABO, Vice President, and Pete Russo, OD '87, FAAO, Secretary. We thank them for their service and leadership!

"It’s an honor to have been given the opportunity to serve as the Alumni Council President," says Dr. Owusu. "I’m proud to be a graduate of one of the premier optometric institutions, and I’m happy to now have the opportunity to give back to the College that groomed and prepared me for professional life. In this role, I look forward to further developing our Alumni Ambassador Program. With such a strong alumni network, ICO has a great community of doctors for our students and colleagues to grow alongside."

Dr. Owusu, who also serves on the ICO Board of Trustees, was recently featured on an episode of Sandbox Stories , a podcast created by fellow Board Member, Scott Jens, OD '91. The podcast provides interviews and perspectives from people in the industry with diverse backgrounds and inspires listeners to be great at what they do.

The ICO Alumni Council consists of 10 alumni and 2 student leaders. If you are interested in becoming an Alumni Council member and would like more information, please contact the ICO Alumni Office at


AAO Inducts New Fellows and Diplomates

The American Academy of Optometry inducted 264 new Fellows and 8 new Diplomates in the fall of 2020.

ICO would like to congratulate our alumni who have achieved their AAO Fellow status. Below is list of the newest Fellows. We are proud to see the “FAAO” after your names. Congratulations!

Alaina Bandstra, OD '17, FAAO

Brittney Marie Brady, OD '18, FAAO

Simran Brar, OD '19, FAAO

Margaret T. Burton, OD '17, FAAO

Morgan Cornelius, OD '19, FAAO

Christian Corzo, OD '18, FAAO

Bruce I. Gaynes, OD '83, PharmD, MS, FAAO

Abigail Gonsalves, OD '19, FAAO

Beth Healy, OD '03, FAAO

Kathryn Elizabeth Hohs, OD '18, FAAO

Katalin Hotsenpiller, OD '03, FAAO

Jacqueline Anne Ecalnir Julio, OD '19, FAAO

Konstantina G. Kalas, OD '19, FAAO

Kim Alana Krusell, OD '16, FAAO

Stephanie Kwan, OD '15, FAAO

Jami Parsons Malloy, OD '09, FAAO

Manali Patel, OD '18, FAAO

Sonali Patel, OD '14, FAAO

David Schaeffer, OD '17, FAAO

Ryan Socwell, OD '09, MBA, FAAO

Abigail Strauss, OD '19, FAAO

Katherine Thomas, OD '19, FAAO

Nhung Tran, OD '19, FAAO

Senija Turan, OD '17, FAAO

Aleice Vujnovich, OD '18, FAAO

Samantha Wong, OD '19, FAAO

Wendy Zhen, OD '19, FAAO

Congratulations also to Ken Maller, OD '91, FAAO, Dipl. CCLRT and former ICO resident Zanna Kruoch, OD, FAAO, Dipl. Ant. Seg. who achieved Diplomate status!