ICO president Arol Augsburger, OD, inducted into National Optometry Hall of Fame

Updated: Jun 21, 2019

The Illinois College of Optometry is proud to announce that Arol Augsburger, OD, was inducted into the National Optometry Hall of Fame on June 26, during a ceremony as part of Optometry’s Meeting in Philadelphia, Pa. Dr. Augsburger was one of three inductees honored this year for significant contributions to the profession.

Dr. Augsburger has served with privilege for more than 43 years at three distinguished optometry programs—The Ohio State University College of Optometry, the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry and the Illinois College of Optometry. Dr. Augsburger was named president of ICO in 2002. During his tenure, he has advanced student performance on National Board Examinations, expanded the clinic program to include an electronic health care record system and additional patient care clinics in communities surrounding the college, and provided leadership for the long-term investment in ICO’s assets by overseeing the addition of an enhanced learning center, state-of-the-art Lecture Center and library, and the Alfred and Sarah Rosenbloom Center on Vision and Aging.

Among his numerous awards are: National Optometrist of the Year (1986), H. Ward Ewalt Medal for Service to Optometry (1993), Alabama Optometrist of the Year (2000), Carel C. Koch Award (2001), Illinois Optometrist of the Year (2007), and OSU Optometry Distinguished Alumnus Award (2011). He has also authored more than 140 articles and chapters, including studies that have been published in Journal of National Academies of Practice, American Journal of Industrial Medicine, Journal of the American Optometric Association and Journal of Optometric Education.

Congratulations to Dr. Arol Augsburger!

Connect with us

  • ICO on Facebook
  • ICO on Twitter
  • ICO on Instagram
  • ICO on YouTube
  • Flickr - White Circle