Leadership Team

Advancing the College's mission and our community commitment


Dr. Mark K. Colip is Illinois College of Optometry's sixth president. Thanks to his values, passion, and vision, ICO’s Board of Trustees unanimously appointed Dr. Colip as the right president for this period in ICO’s history. He has worked closely with three previous presidents and has been involved in many phases of ICO's development. Leading up to his 2019 inauguration, Dr. Colip served at ICO for over 25 years. Today, he leads our efforts to advance the College’s mission as we progress toward ICO’s 150th anniversary in 2022.

Presidential Challenge Coin


Each person who attended ICO’s 2019 Presidential Inauguration received an exclusive challenge coin. This memento not only commemorates the event, but also acts as a reminder of the recipient’s connections to the Illinois College of Optometry.

Challenge coins are carried by groups of people who share special memories, causes, or ideologies. Dr. Colip’s Presidential challenge coin is a tangible reminder that, no matter where life takes us, all members of the ICO family remain connected in kindness and integrity.

Leadership Team


Mark Colip, OD



Stephanie Messner, OD, FAAO
Vice President and
Dean for Academic Affairs


Daniel Ren, MBA, CPA

Chief Operating Officer,
Illinois Eye Institute


Maggie Lopez
Chief Executive Assistant, Office of the President and Board of Trustees


Erik Mothersbaugh, OD, FAAO
Dean of Student Affairs


Leonard Messner, OD, FAAO
Vice President for Strategy and Institutional Advancement

Christa Ojeda Final.jpg

Christa Ojeda, CPA

Vice President for Business and Finance, Chief Financial Officer

Board of Trustees

Dwight H. Akerman, OD, MBA, FAAO '80  Chairman
Fort Worth, Texas


Vasvi A. Babu, OD '93
Scottsdale, Arizona


Rev. Torrey L. Barrett
Chicago, Illinois

Sandra Bury, OD '95

Oak Lawn, Illinois


Kevin A. Danahey, OD '91

Granger, Indiana

Joseph L. Derezinski, MS
Chicago, Illinois


Thomas V. Duchardt, FAAO

Naples, Florida

Karen A. Eng, OD
North Barrington, Illinois


Robert L. Fait, OD '68 Secretary 
Burlington, Wisconsin

Dwain L. Hahs Treasurer
Jackson, Missouri

Philip J. Hasler, OD '86

Reedsburg, Wisconsin


Scott A. Jens, OD, FAAO '91

Madison, Wisconsin


Jeffrey D. Johnson, OD, MBA '97
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin


Osvaldo I. Lopez, MD
Chicago, Illinois

C. Michael LoPiano, MBA
Chicago, Illinois

Tracy L. Matchinski, OD, FAAO '95

Chicago, Illinois


Nana Owusu, OD '08
Winnipeg, Manitoba



Steven Schneider
Chicago, Illinois


Jeff Smith, OD, MBA '83 Vice Chairman 
Chicago, Illinois

Timothy H. Tsang, OD, FAAO '06

Vaughan, Ontario


Student Representative

Rachel Shackelford, '23


Emeritus Trustees

James R. Butler, OD '59
Atlantis, Florida

Donovan L. Crouch, OD, FAAO '63
Storm Lake, Iowa

Past Presidents