top of page

ICO News

Catch up on the latest happenings at ICO.

ICO to Honor Distinguished Optometrists at Homecoming

The Illinois College of Optometry is proud to announce the winners of the 2014 Alumni Association Awards. Ten optometrists and one corporation will be honored for professional achievement, leadership in education and excellence in philanthropy, on Saturday, September 6 at the InterContinental Chicago.

The 2014 Alumni Association award recipients are:

Golden Gavel Awards Charles W. Harrill, OD ’74, Dipl. ABO Pamela A. Lowe, OD ’88, FAAO, Dipl. ABO Dominick M. Maino, OD ’78, MEd, FAAO, FCOVD-A Jeffrey R. Varanelli, OD ’98, FAAO, Dipl. ABO, ABCMO

Alumnus of the Year Award Donald J. Bush, OD ’79 (posthumously)

Young Alumnus of the Year Award Jennifer S. Harthan, OD ’06, FAAO

Distinguished Friend Award Essilor of America, Inc.

Professional Achievement Award Peter A. Russo, OD ’87, FAAO

Excellence in Education Award Yi Pang, OD, PhD, FAAO

Humanitarian Award Ruth S. McAndrews, OD ’79, FVI

Lifetime Service Award C. Clayton Powell, Sr., OD ’52, MPH, DOS

Congratulations to the 2014 Alumni Association Award winners. For more information about the awards and how to nominate a deserving individual, call 312.949.7080 or e-mail

Recent Posts

See All

FCO’s annual raffle fundraiser is set for the week of Dec. 8-12. Tickets will be available for purchase from 11:30 a.m.-2 p.m., Monday through Friday. LOTS of exciting raffle prizes have been donated!

The AAO Poinsettia Sale is going on now. Purchase a poinsettia by Friday, Dec. 5, for $15 for your home or a friend. The poinsettias will deliver by Dec. 11th.  Email to place you

The Annual Holiday Food Drive kicked off this week, and goes until Tuesday, Dec. 2. They’re collecting non-perishable food items to support the St. James Food Pantry, which serves food to low income f

bottom of page